top of page

Creating My Daily Writing Habit

Recently I’ve been going over the Daily Habits Worksheet for Authors from the Ink Authors writers group I’m in. I’ve found that I need a bit more structure in my writing day, similar to working a “real” job (imagine that!). It’s basically a “to do” list of writerly things, with some self-care thrown in, because let’s face it—we writers would write through the day without a break, maybe stopping long enough to pee, grab a bite to eat, and refill our mug.

I just used it for the first time today, and I think my productivity went up. I wasn’t checking social media every time I paused in my work. I did a short five-minute walk at 11AM, and I think that might have helped my focus.

I have fifteen items on my list. I didn’t do the first three because by the time I’d finished making up my Daily Habits schedule, it was time for my walk. I may not get them all done today, but I think I’ve made good progress in becoming more productive. If I’d had this four months ago, I’d most likely be working on my second book release by now.

My plan is to also not use social media after a certain time of day (probably after dinner). I’ve scheduled a longer walk for that time, then unplugged work, and then reading before bed.

I’m curious to see how my productivity improves with this new schedule. Maybe I’ll get that second book done this year after all! To find out more on author productivity, you can find Christine Whitmarsh’s Daily Writing Habit podcast wherever you listen, and also find her Ink Authors group on Facebook.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Me
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Pinterest Social Icon
bottom of page